November 24, 2017

Weyburn Police Service Receives $220,000 for Targeted Policing Initiatives

The Government of Saskatchewan is taking action to ensure the safety of Weyburn communities and families through the Municipal Police Grants.

This provincial contribution of $220,000 will fund two existing Weyburn Police Service positions in 2017-18.

“Community safety continues to be a priority for the Government of Saskatchewan,” Environment Minister and Weyburn-Big Muddy MLA Dustin Duncan said on behalf of Justice Minister and Attorney General Don Morgan.  “Continued support for targeted policing initiatives in Weyburn is essential for community and public safety.”

The programs supported through the Municipal Police Grants work to improve community safety through the Serious Crime unit.  Another important program is the Combined Traffic Services Saskatchewan division.  The unit works to improve safety on the highways through increased awareness and enforcement of traffic regulations.

“As mayor and the chair of the Weyburn Board of Police Commissioners, we appreciate the funding we receive from the Saskatchewan Government for our police service,” Weyburn Mayor Marcel Roy said.  “This funding assists us in helping to meet public safety expectations for the city.  And as policing in the province continues to change and modify to meet demands, I look to further equitable and modified funding and regional structure opportunities with the government to ensure public safety is enhanced.”

"This continuing partnership with the provincial government helps increase our capacity as a police service,” Weyburn Police Service Chief of Police Marlo Pritchard said.  “The funding of two police officers assists us in ensuring a high level of public safety is maintained in the City of Weyburn.”

The provincial government provides funds to urban police services across the province to support 128 municipal police positions and policing initiatives.  In combination with the Provincial Response Team, this grant fulfills the government’s commitment to supporting the policing services within the province’s municipalities.