June 04, 2019

Six Outstanding Citizens to Be Invested With The Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Tonight, Chief Justice Robert Richards, Administrator of Saskatchewan on behalf of Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy, will invest six extraordinary citizens into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in Regina.

“The 2019 recipients have made enormous contributions to our province, and are most deserving of this prestigious honour,” Richards said.  “I congratulate each of these remarkable citizens on receiving the Saskatchewan Order of Merit and I thank them, most sincerely, for their strong leadership, their uncommon generosity, and their remarkable vision.”

The 2019 recipients are:

  • Don Atchison, Saskatoon
  • Doug Cuthand, Saskatoon
  • Lyn Goldman, Regina
  • Grit McCreath, Calgary and Waskesiu
  • Dr. Andy Potter, Saskatoon
  • Dr. William Francis Ready, Regina

Since 1985, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit has recognized citizens who demonstrate exemplary contributions to the province in areas such as the arts, business and industry, agriculture, community leadership and volunteer service.  In 1991, it was recognized by the Government of Canada in the national sequence of orders.

The individuals invested this year will join 234 other citizens who have previously been invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.  They will receive the medal of the Order at a ceremony held in their honour this evening.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Order of Merit or to find out how to nominate someone, visit www.saskatchewan.ca/honoursawards.