February 02, 2018

Scott Moe Sworn In As Premier, Appoints First Cabinet

Scott Moe was formally sworn in as Premier of Saskatchewan and President of Executive Council by Her Honour, the Honourable Vaughn Solomon Schofield, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan.

"I am honoured to be sworn in as the Premier of Saskatchewan and commit to serve on behalf of all Saskatchewan people," Moe said. "As Premier, I will always stand with the people of our great Province."

Premier Moe also announced the appointment of his first cabinet.

Five MLAs are entering cabinet, including one who becomes a minister for the first time:

• Gordon Wyant becomes Deputy Premier and Minister of Education;
• Jeremy Harrison becomes Minister of Export and Trade Development and Minister of Immigration and Careers Training;
• Tina Beaudry-Mellor becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan, and Status of Women;
• Ken Cheveldayoff becomes Minister of Central Services and Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission and the Provincial Capital Commission;
• Warren Kaeding, becomes Minister of Government Relations and Minister of First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs.

Two ministers remain in cabinet but change portfolios:

• Bronwyn Eyre becomes Minister of Energy and Resources and Minister responsible for SaskWater and SaskEnergy;
• Christine Tell becomes Minister of Corrections and Policing, and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation.

Ten ministers retain their current cabinet responsibilities:

• Don Morgan remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General, and Minister responsible for Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and Workers’ Compensation Board while adding responsibility for the Global Transportation Hub and SaskTel;
• Donna Harpauer remains Minister of Finance;
• Lyle Stewart remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance;
• Jim Reiter remains Minister of Health;
• Dustin Duncan remains Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for the Water Security Agency and SaskPower;
• Greg Ottenbreit remains Minister of Rural and Remote Health;
• David Marit remains Minister of Highways and Infrastructure, and Minister responsible for SaskBuilds and Priority Saskatchewan;
• Joe Hargrave remains Minister of Crown Investments Corporation, and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Government Insurance;
• Paul Merriman remains Minister of Social Services;
• Gene Makowsky remains Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, and Minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority while adding responsibility for Tourism Saskatchewan.

“This team of 17 women and men represent many of the qualities that make our province great,” Moe said. “As cabinet, we will set targets and continue to strive to reach them. As a team, we will stand with the people of our province. As a team, we will stand with Saskatchewan.”