August 18, 2021

Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal Recipients Announced

Today Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty announced the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal.  The recipients will be presented this prestigious medal on August 26, 2021, at a ceremony held in their honour at Government House in Regina.

"The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal acknowledges the exceptional contributions made by these generous and capable individuals," Lieutenant Governor Mirasty said.  "I offer my congratulations and thanks to each recipient on this well-deserved honour."

The recipients of the 2020 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Lieutenant-Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Cade, CD (posthumous), Regina
  • Anne Chase, Regina
  • Peggy George, Melfort
  • Derek Harrison, Fort Qu'Appelle
  • Ken Hartz, Bradwell
  • Eileen Herman, Qu'Appelle
  • Frank McDougall, Saskatoon
  • Jean de Dieu Ndayahundwa, Regina
  • Leela Sharma, Saskatoon
  • Lorraine Silzer, Assiniboia
  • Richard Strayer, Saskatoon
  • Bernice Woolhouse, Assiniboia

The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal was established in 1995 to recognize the extraordinary work done by volunteers across the province.  Since its creation, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to 228 deserving individuals.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, visit