January 28, 2021

Saskatchewan Union of Nurses and SEIU-West Ratify Bargaining Agreement

Both the Saskatchewan Union of Nurses (SUN) and the Service Employees’ International Union West (SEIU-West) have ratified new collective bargaining agreements with the Saskatchewan Association of Health Organizations (SAHO Inc.).

This achieves settlement of all collective bargaining agreements for the Saskatchewan Health Authority for the first time since forming a single provincial health authority.

The SEIU-West collective agreement is for five years from April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2022 with a financial settlement of 0 per cent, 0 per cent, 1 per cent, 2 per cent, 2 per cent with an option of a sixth year at 2 per cent.

The SUN CBA includes a financial settlement of 0 per cent, 0 per cent, 1 per cent, 2 per cent, 2 per cent and 2 per cent and is one of the first agreements in health care to recognize the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission relating to health care.  The collective agreement runs from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2024.

“I am very pleased to see a successful conclusion to the collective bargaining with our important health unions,” Health Minister Paul Merriman said.  “I want to thank everyone for their collaborative efforts to reach these milestones and to continue to provide valued health services to the residents of our province.”

SUN represents more than 10,000 Registered Nurses (RNs), Registered Psychiatric Nurses (RPNs) and Nurse Practitioners (NPs).

SEIU-West represents 11,500 health care workers in nursing, environmental services, diagnostic services, administration, finance and other services working in acute care, long-term care, home care, primary health care, emergency medical, public and mental health services.