June 01, 2021

Saskatchewan Health Authority Board Appointments Announced

The Saskatchewan Health Authority (SHA) is welcoming new members to its Board of Directors.

Arlene Wiks from Saskatoon will serve as the new Chairperson of the 10 member Board.

Wiks is a retired banking executive with extensive Board experience that includes chairing the SGI's Board of Directors.  Tyler Bragg, a financial services executive from Swift Current who has a range of experience in Saskatchewan's health system, will serve as Vice-Chairperson.

Both were appointed to three-year terms.

Three new members have also been appointed for three-year terms: Gillis Lavalley (Regina), David Fan (North Battleford) and Gary Zabos, Q.C. (Saskatoon).

"These new SHA Board members are passionate about improving our health care system, and passionate about making a difference for residents receiving health services across Saskatchewan," Health Minister Paul Merriman said.  "I am confident that along with the experienced and dedicated returnees to the Board, they will do a tremendous job leading this 44,000-strong organization through current and future challenges."

Returning members appointed to 18 month terms are: Brenda Abrametz (Prince Albert), Dr. Janet Tootoosis (North Battleford), Marilyn Charlton (Weyburn), Rosalena Smith (Pinehouse Lake) and Tom Zurowski (Saskatoon).

The appointments were made by Order in Council and are effective immediately.

"I want to express my gratitude to all outgoing and returning Board members for their commitment and service to Saskatchewan residents through the transition to the single provincial health authority," Merriman said.  "We are fortunate to have such high calibre individuals willing to contribute their time and experience to improve our health care system."

The next SHA Board meeting is expected to be held in late June.