April 26, 2016

Residents Honoured With Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal

Today Lieutenant Governor Vaughn Solomon Schofield presented the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal to 10 of the province’s most dedicated volunteers during a ceremony at Government House in Regina.  The 2015 recipients are from across Saskatchewan, coming from Casa Rio Estates, Shell Lake, Prince Albert, Swift Current, Regina and Saskatoon.

“The 2015 recipients of our highest volunteer award are remarkable leaders, who teach us about generosity and commitment," Solomon Schofield said.  "I congratulate them on this prestigious honour and thank them for their enormous contributions to the people of Saskatchewan."

The 2015 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal recipients are:

  • Robert (Bob) Berthiaume, Consultant, Regina
  • Dale Ebert, Retired Teacher, Prince Albert
  • Jeannette Eddolls, Teacher, Prince Albert
  • Harold Empey, Retired Businessman, Saskatoon
  • Doug Hodson, Q.C., Lawyer, Casa Rio Estates
  • Phyllis Johnson, Retired Teacher, Shell Lake
  • Anthea Loran, Artist and Author, Swift Current
  • Agnes Parisloff, Retired, Regina
  • Neil Robertson, Q.C., Lawyer, Regina
  • Jeanne Walters, Retired, Saskatoon

“Thank you for giving of yourselves to care for others,” Provincial Secretary Nadine Wilson said.  “Your contributions have raised millions for our communities, enhanced our arts and culture offerings, supported our vulnerable people, and blessed us in countless other ways.  I am honoured to recognize your service today.”

Instituted in 1995, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal recognizes volunteers and those who demonstrate exceptional community involvement.  Following today’s presentation ceremony for the newest recipients, a total of 184 people will have received this medal.

To nominate an outstanding volunteer for the 2016 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, visit www.saskatchewan.ca.

The nomination period is open until October 18, 2016.