November 10, 2020

Provincial Government Recognizes Scholarship of Honour Recipients

The Government of Saskatchewan is proud to recognize eight recipients with this year’s Scholarship of Honour.

The annual scholarship provides a one-time award of $5,000 toward post-secondary education to returning Canadian Armed Forces Members, as well as the spouses and children of injured or fallen members.

“Our government is forever grateful to the dedicated and courageous men and women serving in Canada’s Armed Forces,” Premier Scott Moe said.  “This year, we are honoured to provide the scholarship to seven Canadian Armed Forces Members and one family member to help them pursue their post-secondary studies.  It is a small way we can honour the brave Saskatchewan citizens who have given so much to protect our country and freedom.”

Since its inception in 2009, 234 scholarships have been awarded, totalling $1,170,000.  Included among the recipients are 35 family members of injured or fallen Canadian Armed Forces Members.

Eligible candidates must be current or former Saskatchewan residents.  They must be returning service men and women who actively served in designated military operations in the Canadian Armed Forces (Regular or Reserves) after January 2001.  The spouse and/or child of permanently disabled or deceased individuals who served in designated military operations after January 2001 may also be eligible.  All candidates must be enrolled in a recognized Canadian post-secondary institution.

The Ministry of Advanced Education works with the federal government to distribute scholarship information to returning soldiers and their families.

To learn more about the Scholarship of Honour visit