July 23, 2021

Province Provides Over $3.7 Million to Saskatchewan Municipalities for Paratransit Services

Today, Government Relations Minister Don McMorris announced over $3.7 million in funding for the Transit Assistance for People with Disabilities program (TAPD).

TAPD is an annual provincial grant program available to Saskatchewan municipalities who offer paratransit services.

"This investment reinforces our commitment to building a more inclusive and accessible Saskatchewan," McMorris said. "Our government is proud of this investment to support municipalities in providing services to people with disabilities and reducing barriers to employment."

Paratransit is critical for people with disabilities as passengers use the service to travel to school, work, medical appointments and other daily activities.

In total, 69 municipalities - 14 cities and 55 towns - across the province will receive funds through TAPD in the 2021-22 fiscal year.  Through the program, funds are provided for operating assistance grants, such as transportation costs and vehicle maintenance, and capital assistance grants used for the purchase of replacement vehicles.

Funding for operational assistance grants is calculated using the population category of each municipality as well as the number of paratransit trips provided by the municipality in the previous calendar year.

Municipalities receiving a grant for operating assistance include the City of Estevan, Town of La Ronge, City of Melville, Town of Nipawin and Town of Shaunavon.

Funding for capital assistance grants is provided for 75 per cent of the cost of a vehicle to a maximum of $55,000 per vehicle.  The municipality is responsible for covering 25 per cent of the cost.

Municipalities receiving a capital grant toward the purchase of new paratransit buses in 2021-22 are the: Town of Carlyle, City of Moose Jaw, City of North Battleford, City of Prince Albert, Town of Rocanville, City of Saskatoon, City of Regina and City of Yorkton.

A full list of grant recipients is attached.

Accessible and safe transportation is also identified as one of six priority areas in the Saskatchewan Disability Strategy.  The TAPD program directly supports this priority by helping Saskatchewan municipalities provide safe and available public paratransit service to residents across the province.

For more information about the program, visit https://www.saskatchewan.ca/government/municipal-administration/funding-finances-and-asset-management/funding/funding-transit-for-people-with-disabilities.