May 23, 2018

Province Invests Outstanding Citizens Into Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Tonight Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy will invest six extraordinary citizens with the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.

“The Order of Merit is the province’s highest honour,” Molloy said.  “Saskatchewan has remarkable citizens, and looking at the accomplishments and contributions of the six individuals chosen for the Order of Merit this year, I am truly humbled.  Their work has made our province a better place, and I thank them for their tremendous efforts.”

The 2018 recipients are:

  • National Chief Perry Bellegarde, Assembly of First Nations, Little Black Bear First Nation;
  • Gail Bowen, Author, Regina;
  • Dr. Robert Calder, Professor Emeritus and Author, Saskatoon;
  • Maurice Delage, President of Delage Farms Ltd., Indian Head;
  • Thelma Pepper, Photographic Artist, Saskatoon; and
  • Neil Richards, LGBT Archivist and Activist, Saskatoon (posthumous).

Since 1985, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit has recognized citizens who demonstrate exemplary contributions to the province in areas such as the arts, business and industry, agriculture, community leadership and volunteer service.

In 1991, it was recognized by the Government of Canada in the national sequence of orders.  The individuals invested this year will join 229 other citizens who have previously been invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Order of Merit or to find out how to nominate someone, visit