December 17, 2015

Prince Albert Police Service Receives $2 Million for Targeted Policing Initiatives

The Government of Saskatchewan is taking action to ensure the safety of Prince Albert communities and families through the Municipal Police Grants.  This provincial contribution of $2 million will fund 19 Prince Albert Police Service positions in 2015-16.

“Community and public safety continue to be an important priority for the province of Saskatchewan,” Prince Albert Northcote MLA Victoria Jurgens said on behalf of Corrections and Policing Minister Christine Tell.  “Through the Municipal Police Grants the province is able to provide additional support to the dedicated members of Prince Albert’s Police service.”

The programs supported through the Municipal Police Grants disrupts organized crime and gang activity through the investigations of the Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit, or holds chronic habitual offenders to account through the Serious and Habitual Offender Comprehensive Action Program.

Other programs work to solve missing persons cases or, through the work of the Internet Child Exploitation  unit, reduce the victimization of the most vulnerable members of our society, our children.

“We greatly appreciate the commitment from the province to our policing services,” Prince Albert Mayor Greg Dionne said.  “The ongoing support enables us to enhance our visibility in the community.”

“We are grateful for the province’s ongoing commitment to safety through the Municipal Police Grants,” Prince Albert Police Service Chief Troy Cooper said.  “We can enhance our ability to focus on areas of significant risk to our community as a result of this continued support.”

The provincial government provides funding annually to urban police services across the province to support 125 municipal police positions and policing initiatives.  This grant fulfills the government’s commitment for 120 new police officers and is part of the ministry’s ongoing commitment to supporting the policing services within the province’s municipalities.