August 02, 2019

President Announced for Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency

Today, Government Relations Minister Warren Kaeding announced that Marlo Pritchard has been named president of the Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency (SPSA).

“Enhanced and improved citizen service is the goal of this agency, and I’m confident that this will be achieved under Marlo’s leadership,” Kaeding said. “He has a proven track record within the public safety sector, and will make sure that the safety needs of Saskatchewan’s people continue to be met through effectively coordinated and delivered programs and services.”

Pritchard, formerly the Chief Constable with the Weyburn Police Service will officially join the SPSA this September.

“My priority is ensuring that we as an agency continue to deliver the service that Saskatchewan citizens expect,” Pritchard said. “I am honoured to take on this new role, and look forward to working with our staff and partners to keep the people of our province safe.”

The Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency is a Treasury Board Crown, originally created in 2017 to manage Saskatchewan’s 911 emergency call-taking and dispatching services.

The agency’s mandate was expanded in January 2019 to include the Emergency Management and Fire Safety branch from the Ministry of Government Relations, and the Wildfire Management branch from the Ministry of Environment.  

Agency head offices will remain in Regina, with additional offices, dispatch and wildfire centres located around Saskatchewan, including Saskatoon and Prince Albert.

J. Greg Miller, president of the SPSA, who has overseen the expansion and establishment of the agency, as well as the recruitment of the permanent president will step aside.  Miller will continue as the Deputy Minister of Government Relations, having filled both roles since summer 2018.

For more information on the SPSA, read the Government of Saskatchewan news release announcing its expansion on January 9, 2019 at