August 30, 2017

Premier Makes Cabinet Changes

Premier Brad Wall today announced a number of changes to the provincial cabinet following the departure from cabinet of five ministers.

Five ministers will remain in cabinet but change portfolios:

  • Deputy Premier Don Morgan becomes Minister of Justice and Attorney General, while retaining responsibility for Labour and the Workers’ Compensation Board;
  • Donna Harpauer becomes Minister of Finance;
  • Kevin Doherty becomes Minister of Advanced Education;
  • Bronwyn Eyre becomes Minister of Education and Minister responsible for the Status of Women; and
  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for SaskPower, SaskWater, the Water Security Agency and the Global Transportation Hub.

Five MLAs are entering cabinet, including four who become ministers for the first time:

  • Nancy Heppner re-enters cabinet as Minister of Energy and Resources and Minister responsible for the Public Service Commission;
  • Paul Merriman becomes Minister of Social Services and Government Deputy House Leader;
  • Steven Bonk becomes Minister of Economy and Minister responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan, Innovation and Trade;
  • Larry Doke becomes Minister of Government Relations and Minister responsible for First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs; and
  • Gene Makowsky becomes Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority.

Six other ministers will retain their current cabinet responsibilities:

  • Lyle Stewart remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance;
  • Jim Reiter remains Minister of Health;
  • Greg Ottenbreit remains Minister of Rural and Remote Health;
  • Christine Tell remains Minister responsible for Central Services and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission and the Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation;
  • Joe Hargrave remains Minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation and Saskatchewan Government Insurance while adding responsibility for SaskEnergy and SaskTel; and
  • David Marit remains Minister of Highways and Infrastructure while adding responsibility for SaskBuilds and Priority Saskatchewan.

Greg Brkich becomes the new Government House Leader.  Warren Kaeding becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister responsible for SaskTel (Cellular and Internet Coverage) in addition to his current duties as Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture (Irrigation Expansion).

“This new cabinet provides a strong balance of experience and new perspectives as our government goes through the transition period leading to the selection of the new Premier early in 2018,” Premier Brad Wall said.  “Before that happens, there is still plenty of work to do and we plan to have a very active fall, to help ensure Saskatchewan keeps growing stronger.”

The overall size of the cabinet remains unchanged at 17, including the Premier.