February 04, 2020

Premier Announces New Committee To Evaluate Pipeline Projects

Today, Premier Scott Moe announced the establishment of the Pipeline Projects Assessment Committee (PPAC), a cabinet committee focused on evaluating potential pipeline projects in Saskatchewan.

PPAC is a cabinet committee formed to review and assess the viability of pipeline projects in Saskatchewan and possible government involvement in investing, stimulating, or generally advancing these projects.

“Our government recognizes the necessity of further developing pipeline infrastructure to help our energy products reach key global markets,” said Premier Moe. “I am pleased to announce this cabinet committee to assess the viability of pipeline project proposals in Saskatchewan and the opportunity for our government to invest or support future pipeline projects.”

The decision to establish the PPAC stems from a number of proposals from businesses, indigenous groups, and communities that are looking at pipeline projects to advance access for Saskatchewan’s energy products to market. This includes projects expanding access south through the United States, and projects that would create access through the port of Churchill.

The PPAC will be comprised of the following cabinet ministers:

  • Minister of Finance Donna Harpauer
  • Minister of Trade and Export Development Jeremy Harrison
  • Minister of Energy and Resources Bronwyn Eyre
  • Minister of Environment Dustin Duncan

Encouraging pipeline expansion and development within the province to enable the shipment of Saskatchewan oil through the U.S. and encouraging Indigenous equity participation in Saskatchewan pipeline projects were both goals set in Saskatchewan’s Growth Plan 2020-2030.