September 17, 2020

New Joint-Use Elementary School Coming to Westheath Neighbourhood in Moose Jaw

Today, Premier Scott Moe joined Deputy Premier and Education Minister Gordon Wyant, along with Moose Jaw-Wakamow MLA Greg Lawrence and representatives from Prairie South and Holy Trinity Catholic school divisions at the future site of a joint-use elementary school in Moose Jaw.  The new school will be built in the Westheath neighbourhood in the southwest area of the city.

“We are pleased that a site has been selected for this new joint-use school, and are excited to move forward with the next phase of this great project,” Moe said.  “This new school build will be a welcome addition to the Moose Jaw community, and provide a booster shot to Saskatchewan’s economic recovery.”

The Government of Saskatchewan has committed $50 million in funding to support the planning, design and construction of the Prekindergarten – Grade 8 school.  When completed, the school will accommodate 900 students from the two divisions.  The facility will also have a licensed child care facility for 51 children in the community.

“The Westheath location allows us to build the school that our city deserves, unfettered by current land use,” Prairie South School Division Board Robert Bachmann said.  “More importantly, the Westheath location allows us to build the school that our kids deserve, with attention to safety that only this greenfield location provides.”

“A generational project deserves to be done right,” Holy Trinity Catholic School Division Board Derek Hassen said.  “The Westheath location meets all the safety, size and accessibility needs for a project of this size.  This school will be a tremendous addition for South Hill for decades to come.”

The Ministry of Education, Holy Trinity School Division, Prairie South School Division and SaskBuilds will work together with the project manager on the design and construction of this new school.

Since 2007, the province has committed more than $1.9 billion toward school infrastructure projects, which includes 85 major school capital projects and numerous smaller projects such as portable classrooms and preventative maintenance and renewal.