September 01, 2017

More Than 179,000 Students Returning to School in the Fall: Let's Stay Safe and Keep Our Children Safe

Summer is coming to an end, and students are getting ready to return to school.  The Ministry of Education, school divisions, and education professionals, including teachers, support staff and bus drivers, are also preparing to ensure a safe school environment for Saskatchewan’s more than 179,000 students in the 2017-18 school year.

“September is a very busy time for everyone in education, including students, teachers, school administrators and staff, bus drivers and parents,” Education Minister Bronwyn Eyre said.  “A lot of changes are happening in our schools this year.  Many of our students will return to class in a new learning environment in one of our 21 new schools, including the 18 joint-use schools opening this fall.”

Saskatchewan’s substantial capital investment in the school system is designed for continued growth in the education sector.  The 18 new joint-use schools are designed to accommodate more than 11,000 students from Prekindergarten to Grade 8.  Each joint-use site also contains a community resource area and a 90-space childcare centre.

“There are many exciting opportunities with the start of the new school year,” Eyre said.  “I also want to remind the public to exercise caution and be careful when driving in school zones.  Let’s stay safe and keep our children safe.”

This year, more than 21,000 school and division staff, including teachers, counselors, school administrators, educational assistants, instructional/program support staff, maintenance staff and bus drivers will work together in more than 770 schools across Saskatchewan’s 28 school divisions, including public, separate and francophone schools, to ensure that students receive a high-quality education in our province.

In Saskatchewan, Prekindergarten to Grade 12 education is a shared responsibility, and the elected local school boards manage and administer the school system in their school divisions, within the regulations and guidelines set out by the Ministry of Education.