March 22, 2018

Lieutenant Governor Announces Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal

Today Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy announced the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal.

The medals will be presented to 10 of the province’s most dedicated volunteers at a ceremony during National Volunteer Week, April 15-21, 2018.

“The men and women who will receive the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are an example to us all,” Molloy said.  “Through their generosity of spirit, they are making Saskatchewan a better place.  I congratulate all of the 2017 recipients on receiving this honour as some of Saskatchewan’s best volunteers.”
The recipients of the 2017 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Michelle Al-Katib, Community Leader, White City
  • Mal Barber, Business Owner, Weyburn
  • Scott Boyes, Public Servant, La Ronge
  • Robert Dumur, Business Owner, Pasqua Lake
  • Shirley Frydenlund, Community Builder, Allan
  • Audrey Heit, Retired Special Care Aide, Kindersley
  • Paul Jaspar, Retired Public Servant, Saskatoon
  • Helene Kesten, Social Worker, Regina
  • Eugene Paquin, Retired Educator, Saskatoon
  • Vincent Somogyi, Farmer, Willowbrook

Saskatchewan enjoys a rich history of volunteerism, rooted deep in our province’s collective past, from neighbours helping neighbours during the formative years following Saskatchewan’s founding, and continuing today in many different endeavours.  According to Statistics Canada’s latest survey on volunteering in Canada, Saskatchewan has the highest rates of volunteerism in the country.

The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal was established in 1995 to recognize the extraordinary work done by volunteers across the province.  Since its establishment, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to 194 deserving citizens.

For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal or to nominate someone for other Saskatchewan Honours and Awards, visit