March 05, 2019

Finalists Announced For Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence

Tourism Saskatchewan is pleased to announce the names of 36 finalists and three Tourism Builders for the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence for 2018.

Nearly 90 nominations were received in the 13 award categories that acknowledge quality in marketing, service, business practices, human resource development and other areas.

The finalists and award recipients will be honoured at the 30th annual Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala, which will be celebrated on April 11 at Teachers’ Credit Union Place in Saskatoon.  The gala will be held in conjunction with the HOST Saskatchewan Conference, which takes place earlier that day.  Recipients of the Tourism Builder Award will also be honoured that night.

The Tourism Builder Award recognizes individuals who have made tourism an important part of their life’s work and have helped position Saskatchewan as a welcoming destination.

“The Government of Saskatchewan is pleased to congratulate the 36 award finalists and three Tourism Builders,” Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan Gene Makowsky said.  “They demonstrate impressive leadership and unwavering commitment to providing visitors with remarkable experiences.  The gala on April 11 will be a memorable celebration of their achievements.”

“Tourism Saskatchewan considers it a privilege to host this annual assembly that acknowledges excellence in marketing, human resources, business leadership, lifetime achievement and more,” Tourism Saskatchewan CEO Mary Taylor-Ash said.  “We strive to make the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence program relevant to tourism operators and businesses, and regularly update criteria and categories to reflect our industry.  The 2019 gala will be a special evening, marking the introduction of the first Indigenous Tourism Experience Award.”

Tickets for the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala are $120 (plus GST) or $800 (plus GST) for a corporate table of eight.  The evening will start with a networking reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner service at 6:30 p.m. and the award presentations at 8 p.m.  For more information about the Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence Gala, visit  To order tickets, contact Nancy Hubenig at 306-787-9844 or [email protected].

The Saskatchewan Tourism Awards of Excellence finalists for 2018 are:

Business of the Year Award (Over 20 Full-time Employees)

Casinos Regina and Moose Jaw, Regina/Moose Jaw

Regina Exhibition Association Limited, Regina

Remai Modern, Saskatoon

Business of the Year Award (Under 20 Full-time Employees)

Sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority

Grotto Gardens Country Market, Maple Creek

Over the Hill Orchards and Winery, Lumsden

Tazin Lake Lodge, Tazin Lake

Community Event of the Year Award

Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Arts Board

Cowtown Showdown, Maple Creek

2018 Saskatchewan’s OUTBACK KCRA Rodeo, Carrot River

Taste of Maple Creek Festival, Maple Creek

Fred Heal Tourism Ambassador Award

Sponsored by Wanuskewin Heritage Park

Escape Sports, Saskatoon

Government House Historical Society, Regina

Watrous Manitou Marketing Group, Watrous

Gil Carduner Marketing Award

Sponsored by Phoenix Group

Kinder Surprises Antiques, Davidson

Scott Lake Lodge, Scott Lake

Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Indigenous Tourism Experience Award

Sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies

Aski Holistic Adventures, Cumberland House

Cowtown Showdown, Maple Creek

Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Marquee Event of the Year Award

Sponsored by CTV

Ag in Motion, RM of Corman Park

Congress 2018, University of Regina, Regina

WBSC Junior Men’s World Softball Championship 2018, Prince Albert

Rookie of the Year Award

Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club

Farm One Forty, Vanscoy

Poundmaker Storyteller’s Festival, Poundmaker Cree Nation

Wheatland Express, Cudworth/Wakaw

Service Excellence Award

Sponsored by the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Harvest Eatery, Shaunavon

Manitou Springs Resort and Mineral Spa, Manitou Beach

The Rockin’ Horse Cookhouse and Bar, Maple Creek

Tourism Employee of the Year Award

Sponsored by Harvard Broadcasting Regina

Brenda Peterson, Parks Canada, Grasslands National Park

Davis Hunks, 9 Mile Legacy Brewing Company, Saskatoon

Katie Willie, Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon

Tourism Employer of the Year Award

Sponsored by Regina Airport Authority

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Conference Centre, Regina

Gold Eagle Casino, Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, North Battleford

Prairie River Cruises Ltd., Saskatoon

Travel Media Award

Sponsored by Vendasta

Ashlyn George, Saskatoon

Robin and Arlene Karpan, Saskatoon

Amy Rosen, Toronto, ON

Tourism Builder Award

Sponsored by Tourism Saskatchewan

Randy Fernets, Saskatoon

Scott Ford, Saskatoon

Shann Gowan, Swift Current