January 13, 2020

Curriculum Advisory Committee Has Been Created For Kindergarten To Grade 12 Education In Saskatchewan

A committee of education stakeholders, parents and business professionals will meet for the first time later this week to begin developing recommendations on future development of curriculum and high school graduation requirements in Saskatchewan.

“It is important that we hear from parents, educators, post-secondary institutions and the business community about what students need to learn in the classroom in order to be successful,” Deputy Premier and Education Minister Gordon Wyant said.  “I look forward to hearing the committee’s recommendations for curriculum development and renewal to meet the future needs of students.”

Committee members were nominated by their respective organizations, in addition to four parent representatives from around the province.  The members include:

Teacher Representatives:

  • Ian Krips, Associate Executive Director, Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation
  • Shaun McEachern, Director, Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation

School Division Representatives:

  • Rosalie Lizée, Conseillère pédagogique - Secteur des services éducatifs, Conseil des écoles fransaskoises
  • Martin Prince, board member, Saskatchewan School Boards Association
  • Tracey Young, Superintendent, League of Education Administrators, Directors and Superintendents of Saskatchewan

Post-Secondary Representatives:

  • Loretta Bill, Dean of Adult Basic Education, Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technology
  • Lisa Bird-Wilson, Director, Gabriel Dumont Institute
  • Dr. Beverley Brenna, Professor, University of Saskatchewan
  • Dr. Barb Gustafson, Acting Special Advisor to the Provost, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • Dr. Val Mulholland, Associate Professor, University of Regina
  • Dr. Kathleen O’Reilly, Associate Professor, First Nations University of Canada

Workforce Representatives:

  • Glenn Hepp, Board Member, Credit Union Central of Saskatchewan
  • John Hopkins, CEO, Regina and District Chamber of Commerce
  • Darla Lindbjerg, President and CEO, Greater Saskatoon

Chamber of Commerce:

  • Steve McLellan, CEO, Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce

Parent Representatives:

  • Mike Boyes
  • Kim Crockett
  • Dr. Reg Leidl
  • Jeremy Phillips

Ministry of Education:

  • Susan Nedelcov-Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister of Education (Chair)
  • Maria Chow, Director, Curriculum, Ministry of Education
  • Rob Currie, Deputy Ministry for Education
  • Angella Pinay, Senior Indigenous Advisor, Ministry of Education

“The world is changing at a remarkable rate and it is critical our students keep pace,” Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce CEO Steve McLellan said.  “Schools must offer the right curriculum so students are prepared for the workplace of the future.  As the provincial chamber of commerce, we’re looking forward to bringing the employer voice to the process.”

The committee will serve a three-year term.