June 08, 2018

Conseil des Écoles Fransaskoises to Open Second Elementary School in Regina

The Government of Saskatchewan and Conseil des écoles fransaskoises (CEF), in partnership with the Regina Catholic School Division, have approved a second elementary school for CEF students in Regina.  The Regina Catholic School Division has agreed to lease the former St. Andrew School to CEF for three years starting in the 2018-19 school year.

“I had the opportunity to visit with students and staff at École Monseigneur de Laval this spring and know there is a need for more space to support the growth in the Regina’s Francophone community,” Deputy Premier and Education Minister Gordon Wyant said.  “I want to thank Conseil des écoles fransaskoises and the Regina Catholic School Division for working with the Government of Saskatchewan to find a current solution for the students and families.”

École Monseigneur de Laval is currently Regina’s only Francophone elementary school.  The new school, renamed École du Parc, will accommodate up to 225 students from Prekindergarten to Grade 6 and include a child care centre.

“The Conseil des écoles fransaskoises is pleased to be able to assure parents that their desire to see additional school space allocated by the Saskatchewan government to meet the educational needs of their children is now a reality, while we wait for a new school in the Northwest,” Conseil scolaire fransaskois (CSF) Chair Alpha Barry said.

CEF will receive a school operating funding adjustment of approximately $650,000 for the 2018-19 school year.  Minor renovations will take place over the summer for the school to be ready for students in September 2018.  St. Andrew School is located in the Douglas Park community.