December 04, 2020

Annual Apprenticeship Award Winners Announced

The Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission (SATCC) is pleased to recognize the winners of the 20th annual Apprenticeship Awards.

The annual Apprenticeship Awards event recognizes a variety of apprenticeship stakeholders, including educators, apprentices and journeypersons, for significant achievements within the apprenticeship and trade certification system.  The SATCC presents many of the awards; industry partners also issue their own scholarships and awards.

“Congratulations to everyone being honoured for their valuable contributions to apprenticeshipp in Saskatchewan,” Immigration and Career Training Minister Jeremy Harrison said.  “Skilled tradespeople – and the employers and instructors who mentor and teach them – will be essential to our province’s economic recovery following this pandemic.”

Typically, an in-person banquet is held in Regina to celebrate the honourees.  However, this year’s face-to-face-event was cancelled due to COVID-19.  Award winners are being celebrated through a variety of platforms, including the SATCC’s website and social media channels.

Every year, the Outstanding New Journeypersons comprise the largest cohort of award winners.  Thirty-two certified tradespeople received the Outstanding New Journeyperson awards this year, which recognize the apprentices who achieved the highest marks on the journeyperson certification exams between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020.

“On behalf of the SATCC, I’m proud to congratulate this year’s Apprenticeship Award winners,” SATCC Board Chair Drew Tiefenbach said.  “While I’d love to shake hands and meet this year’s winners face-to-face, I’m glad we’re still able to celebrate their accomplishments virtually.  These winners are integral to the success of Saskatchewan’s apprenticeship system and they deserve to be recognized.”

To learn more about the Apprenticeship Awards and this year’s winners, follow the SATCC on Facebook (@SaskApprenticeship), Twitter (@SKApprentice) and Instagram (@skapprentice) or visit the Awards page on the SATCC’s website at