September 06, 2019

2019 Council of the Federation Literacy Award Winner Announced

Saskatchewan’s recipient of the 2019 Council of the Federation Literacy Award (COFLA) is LaVera Schiele of the Prince Albert Literacy Network.  This year, Saskatchewan’s COFLA is recognizing an outstanding family literacy volunteer.

Saskatchewan honours literacy advocates by focusing on a different category every two years, ensuring the award recognizes literacy learners, literacy volunteers and literacy leaders.

“I want to applaud LaVera on a much deserved award that pays tribute to her unwavering dedication to improving family literacy programs,” Deputy Premier and Education Minister Gordon Wyant said.  “We will be honouring LaVera during a formal event this fall.”

Schiele was chosen this year for her efforts to improve family literacy in the city of Prince Albert over the last 27 years.  Schiele believes that literacy is a community responsibility and this award honours her efforts to include Elders and educators in building community literacy programs.

“Thank you to the Government of Saskatchewan for this honour,” Schiele said.  “Receiving recognition for my work in literacy is a very humbling feeling.  Literacy is key to accessing opportunities and understanding our world.  Without it life would be very limiting and that is a very sobering thought.”

The COFLA was created in 2004 by Canada's Premiers to recognize outstanding achievement, innovation and excellence in literacy in each of Canada's provinces and territories.  The award has been presented annually since 2005 in each province and territories.

For a complete list of previous recipients in Saskatchewan, please visit

For more information about the Council of the Federation, visit